All Collections
Covid-19 Travel Information
Covid-19 Traveler Information
Covid-19 Traveler Information

Important information regarding travel during Covid-19

Jay Edlin avatar
Written by Jay Edlin
Updated over a week ago

Global Level 4 Health Advisory – Do Not Travel

The U.S Department of State maintains a Level 4: Do Not Travel warning, its highest warning, which recommends that Americans avoid all international travel.

For more information regarding the State Department's travel warning, please visit the Department's travel website.

U.S Domestic Travel

While all 50 states have begun the process of reopening, travel restrictions and quarantine policies may vary by state.

Notable restrictions:

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut have issued a mandatory 14 day quarantine for travelers returning from the following 22 states:

  • Alabama

  • Alaska

  • Arkansas

  • Delaware

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Guam

  • Idaho

  • Illinois

  • Indiana

  • Iowa

  • Kansas

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Michigan

  • Minnesota

  • Mississippi

  • Missouri

  • Montana

  • Nebraska

  • Nevada

  • North Carolina

  • North Dakota

  • Ohio

  • Oklahoma

  • Puerto Rico

  • Rhode Island

  • South Carolina

  • South Dakota

  • Tennessee

  • Texas

  • Utah

  • West Virginia

  • Wisconsin

  • Wyoming

The quarantine mandate does not apply to travelers who are "passing through" the designated states. Examples of such brief passage include but are not limited to: stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or lay-overs for air travel, bus travel, or train travel.

U.S Travelers in Europe

If you are planning to visit or travel through European countries, the State Department urges you to check the websites of the relevant U.S. embassies or consulates for information on restrictions, foreign quarantine policies, and urgent health information provided by relevant authorities.

Some European countries currently prohibit entry by tourists and other non-essential travelers. The State Department recommends that you visit the websites of those countries' embassies in the United States for additional information including entry/exit restrictions and permissible categories of travel.

U.S Travel to Canada

As of September 21, 2020, the restriction on all discretionary travel at the Canada-U.S. border that was initially implemented on March 21, 2020, was extended for an additional 30 days until October 21, 2020. This applies to all foreign nationals with some exceptions for immediate family members (see section below). Potential travelers should consult the Border Information Service for information.

Examples of discretionary/optional travel include:

  • Tourism

  • Recreation

  • Entertainment

If you do not have signs and symptoms of COVID-19 and must cross the border for work or other non-discretionary purposes, you may continue to do so. Some examples of non-discretionary travel purposes are:

  • Work and study

  • Critical infrastructure support

  • Economic services and supply chains

  • Health, immediate medical care, safety and security

Some persons working in the health care field are considered exempt from the border prohibition. This is the case as long as they do not provide direct care for people over 65 years of age within the first 14 days of their entry into Canada.

Even if you are permitted to cross the border, mandatory quarantine measures may still apply upon your return to Canada.

Foreign Nationals Entering Canada

If you are a foreign national arriving from the U.S. with symptoms of COVID-19, you will not be allowed to enter Canada.

Foreign nationals arriving from the U.S. without symptoms of COVID-19, will be allowed to enter Canada only for non-discretionary travel.

Foreign nationals, excluding those arriving from the U.S., will not be allowed into Canada. However, there are exemptions to these restrictions for foreign nationals arriving from other countries.

Did this answer your question?